Reverb10 – Day 5 December 19 – Let Go

Let Go.

What (or whom) did you let go of this year? Why?

My ReVerb:

Yes, where shall we go with this?

I’ll tell you, but you won’t like it. In fact as you read my reply to Sunday, December 19, 2010, you will become angrier and angrier that I have completely chickened out from an Honesty perspective. But Too bad, it’s my Blog.

In 2010, I have Let Go of my Blonde Hair. Again. For Good. The first time was 2006 and lasted through 2009 when I went back to Blonde. This time the Blonde lasted a little over a year until this December 2010 when I finally Let Go of the Blonde.

Why?

There are a lot of reasons I am letting go of the Blonde, each of them important in their own right. Off the top of the list, Expense, Time, Discomfort (you sit with skin peeling chemicals on your scalp for 40 minutes), and the over all maintenance required for long term bleached hair.

Another, disingenuous reason, if that it is an attempt to “go green”. If I can live with this color and I let the highlights fade, in about a year I will have natural undyed “virgin hair”. At the age of 45. Fun Times.

I have been an Auburn Brown with Dark Gold Lowlights and Strawberry Blonde Highlights all of my life. In 2001 I started the march down the Blonde path in an attempt to hide the Grey.

In December 2006, I got rid of the Blonde all together, cut my hair and colored it Red.

By December 2008, I had washed out the Red and was on my way to an odd shade of Brown.

I remained a Stranger Shade of Brown until the Summer of 2009, when I realized no amount of color, with the exception of Blonde, would co-exist with the Clorine in the Pool. So I slowly started coloring my hair blonde again, until late Spring 2010, when I found Salon Soma in Belmont Shore and went totally blonde.

After a year of Blonde Maintenance, it was time for another color, another 2 hours at the salon, more expense. So I had Kathryn color match my roots and bring it up naturally from there. I am very happy with the result and at the next touch up we are weaving Auburn lowlights and strawberry highlights.

 

It looks like I am going to be around to see 50, so I may as well get this Comfortable Beauty routine in order while I have time.

Leave a comment